The Qualities

What are the Qualities?

Qualities in astrology are another group or classification that the different zodiac signs are placed under. They are similar to the elements, the moon signs, the sun signs, and the occasional cusp sign. The qualities, however, play a very important part in explaining where people get their motivation from, what they do with the motivation, and why they do things the way they do. Simply put, the three qualities tell how a person deals with the world around them.

Since there are three qualities and twelve zodiac signs, that means each quality has four signs under it. Qualities are linked to the four signs under them, it gives them an overall basis. While that is true, it should also be remembered that these signs are very different. They all have elements, they are ruled by different planets, moon signs, and are in different houses.

qualities, mutable, fixed, cardinal

What are the Three Qualities?

The three qualities are Cardinal (getting things going), Fixed (steady footed), and Mutable (going with the flow).    

Cardinal Signs

The four Cardinal signs are Aries (March 21 to April 19), Cancer (June 21 to July 22), Libra (September 23 to October 22), and Capricorn (December 22 to January 19). These four signs are some of the most ambitious people someone can meet. They are often the first to get something new started, but that does not, by any means, ensure that they will also finish it. Cardinal signs are quick-witted and almost always working on something new.  

On the not that all of the signs are different despite being connected by their Quality, here are some of the differences. Aries (Fire), the first zodiac, tries to be the leader of many things; they dive in head first when it comes to most things. Cancers (Water), being next in line, are more keen for things involving emotions circulating around friends, family, and home. Second, to last are the Libras (Air) who are better at dealing with social gatherings and or romantic happenings. And lastly, the Capricorn (Earth) is the most materialist out of the Cardinal groups.

To learn more about Cardinal signs, read this article.

woman, computer
Cardinal signs are creative and inventive. They are great at beginning projects, but they may need help to finish them.

Fixed Signs

Taurus (April 20 to May 20), Leo (July 23 to August 22), Scorpio (October 23 to November 21), and Aquarius (January 20 to February 18). One of the easiest ways to describe Fixed signs would be “continuation.” They are strongly dedicated and are not likely to give on anything whether it be relationships, a project, or a person. Once they start something these people see it to the very end, so do not be too surprised if they are at least a little stubborn.     

Taurus (Earth), the first of the Fixed signs, are the ones most likely to follow trends or go with the crowd rather than blazing their own trails. Leos (Fire) are always up for being on center stage but they can have some trouble getting used to new and different settings or people. Scorpios (Water) being up next, is very emotional lets that sometimes cloud their judgment to the point that it can be hindering for themselves and some of the people around them. Lastly is the Aquarius sign that can have a lot of trouble with different fields in the department of self-esteem.

If you want to learn more about fixed signs, check out this article.

exercise class, yoga
Fixed signs are determined and patient. While they may not be one to begin a project, they will eagerly help with one/work on one.

Mutable Signs

Gemini (May 21 to June 20), Virgo (August 23 to September 22), Sagittarius (November 22 to December 21), and Pisces (February 19 to March 20). Mutable really is the best word for these four signs because they are the ones that go with the flow of things and are the most flexible. They do not care much for strongly standing their ground, they just want everyone to get along in peace so they try not to cause dismay. These people are calm, sympathetic, and they are not ones to leave someone in need alone.  

Geminis (Air) are usually the ones to change their minds that most often and pull a complete 180 at the drop of a hat. Virgos (Earth) are more or less under the thumb of the space and people around them and it can hard for them to break free when they need to. Sagittarius (Fire) people are one of the most adaptive out of all twelve zodiac signs. No matter what curve ball you pitch them, they will hit it. Pisces (Water) is a little harder to pick out, but like Sagittarius, to the area and people around them.     

If you would like to learn more about the mutable signs, check out this article!

party, concert, friends
Mutable signs are easy-going and sociable. They can go with the flow with ease.


There are a lot of different things to learn about a zodiac sign and a person’s quality can sometimes really help them to understand their sun sign. Because of there is a Leo that does not feel like they are the attention-seeking leader that other Leos are, maybe it is because of the way that their moon sign and quality balance out the power of the sun. So while knowing the quality that goes with a sign, can it really aid in fully understanding how they deal with different situations as they do.  

Links to Related Articles

Leave your vote

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.